Ohio Mayor’s Court System

Our attorneys have extensive experience representing clients charged with misdemeanor offenses, DUI, OVI and other traffic violations in Mayor’s Courts throughout the state of Ohio.

Mayor’s Courts are state courts created by some Ohio municipalities to hear misdemeanor and traffic cases. Cases in Mayor’s Court are heard by either an appointed magistrate, or the Mayor of the municipality, instead of by a judge. Jury trials are not available in Mayor’s Court, but a defendant appearing in Mayor’s Court may request that their case be moved to the appropriate County Municipal Court at any time, and for any reason. Further, should they be convicted in a Mayor’s Court, a defendant may appeal the decision to the County Municipal Court.

Bringing a case in Mayor’s Court can provide several benefits such as a more convenient forum for the hearing than County Municipal Court, extended evening hours to better serve defendants who prefer not to miss work, and a more informal, less stressful atmosphere than a hearing before a Municipal Court judge.

Deciding whether to have your case heard in a Mayor’s Court or a County Municipal Court can be a daunting prospect, and our attorneys can help you make this crucial decision based on your specific situation. After you decide, our expert attorneys will guide you through the entire process in either Mayor’s or Municipal Court, and craft the best possible legal defense to help ensure superior results for all our clients.

There are currently 260 Ohio jurisdictions where a case may be filed in an Ohio Mayor’s Court. Our attorneys practice in the following Mayor’s Courts:

  • Franklin County — (17) Bexley, Canal Winchester, Dublin, Gahanna, Grandview Heights, Grove City, Groveport, Hilliard, Marble Cliff, New Albany, Obetz, Reynoldsburg, Upper Arlington, Valleyview, Westerville, Whitehall, Worthington;
  • Licking County — (10) Alexandria, Buckeye Lake, Granville, Hartford, Hebron, Johnstown, Kirkersville, Pataskala, St. Louisville, Utica;
  • Pickaway County – (4) Ashville, Commercial Point, New Holland, South Bloomfield;
  • Delaware County — (2) Shawnee Hills, Sunbury;
  • Fairfield County — (2) Lithopolis, Pickerington, Sugar Grove; and
  • Madison County – (1) Mount Sterling.
Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: